How do YOU prioritise travel destinations?

It’s videos like THIS

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUoYWcbDCXI]

that make me so confused as to where I should go next.

In the past it’s been easily decided by where fits best on a Round the World ticket or by looking at countries close to somewhere I already know I’m staying. For example, when I had family living in the Philippines, I used it as an opportunity to visit Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan on various occasions.

But as I have become more and more exposed to travel and backpackers and travel blogs and… globes… I find it increasingly difficult to decide where to go next. Not where to go, just where to go NEXT.

So you make a list, don’t you.  These are the things I research:

  • Cost of a flight
  • How far my money will go when I’m there
  • What I can do there
  • How long do I need there

Then I weigh up those things by assigning a weight of importance to each one. Based on the result of this, I am able to come up with a logical conclusion as to where each one is placed on the list and therefore where the next place I ought to go is. Simple.

Except it’s not is it?

Mayan Ruins in Honduras

Shouldn’t decisions like this be made by looking into your heart of hearts? Shouldn’t I have a gut feeling about where to go? These things shouldn’t be decided using logic and sense. That totally goes against the whole spirit of travel – freedom, exploration, relaxation and the unknown.

And yet I really struggle with it. Possibly because I know I only have a finite amount of time but an infinite number of places to go. It’s ridiculous though, because the danger is that fear can paralyse you into NEVER making a decision and before you know it, you aren’t going anywhere.

The reality is that it’s difficult to pick the ‘wrong’ place because you can’t know how much you are going to like somewhere until you’ve been there. After all, it’s the unknown quality that make it attractive in the first place.

I travel solo these days which means no compromising but it also means no companion to bounce ideas off of and I think sometimes that would be a good idea because they make you think of things that had previously not occurred to you.

The bottom line is I’ve never been anywhere and thought, ‘well that was a big fat waste of time/money/effort’ because you know what? The two things that I value the most are catered for no matter what – the journey and simply being somewhere different.

Leave a Reply

